Dragon Age Inquisition, Character Creator.

20141121_215826

First, the character creator is a HUGE learning curve. Take your time with it, and don’t be surprised if you make it through the opening sequence and toss it out the window. While there are a few improvements, including the return of scars (Mass Effect fans rejoice!), overall, it’s clunky and about as un-user friendly as you can get. It freezes your character into position as you fine tune facial structure. Meaning, you have to keep exiting out of that setting, turn your character this way and that,  then go back into get it right. I found that jaw and chin were the worst offenders. At one angle, the jaw would look fine, but at others, horrible. After a good long hour, I finally started up the game…and immediately quit. I hated her. Back to the drawing board.

However, it’s not all bad. Other than the interface, it’s great. You can set the color of the inner and outer iris. You can’t tell from the picture, but my Inquisitor’s eyes are actually blue/green. You set the color with a color wheel, giving you access to whatever eye color combination you want. The same for the make up and tattoos. There are a bunch of scarring options…and then you get to set the position and intensity. I went with a half-Glasgow Smile and a slice through the eyebrow. This is a voiced character. You get two voice options. One speaks with a feminine English accent. The other is deeper, more sarcastic and American/Canadian. I went with the American voice because it suited her look. More often than not, I choose a witty or sarcastic response. The voice acting is just OK.

Another hour later, and my result was MacKenna “Mac” Trevelyan. Human noble, Rogue, dual weapons. I’m not 100% satisfied with her, but I like her enough to go through the game…and she’s way better than her predecessor. She look a lot like my Commander Shepard…then again, so does my Grey Warden.

64572_238073142992361_197480306_nwarden

One thought on “Dragon Age Inquisition, Character Creator.

  1. Oh god when you put an hour of work into a character only to delete and retry after 10 minutes of seeing that stupid chin in every cutscene. Glad some games let you go back to the drawing board in the middle of the game, kinda funny that I could start a game as a tall white man and end as a small tanned girl in massive boots.

    Like

Leave a comment